How to fix Flash with RGBA

After I installed RGBA support for GTK+ on Ubuntu, Flash in websites showed up as a blank! Well here’s the fix, if you find it useful do comment!

I’ve tested two browsers, which were Firefox and Google Chrome. When I run Firefox from the terminal the line outputted from the RGBA module(which looks like “progname=blabla RGBA=on”) had <unknown> as the progname, and with Chrome it was ‘exe’. All I had to do is to edit ~/.profile file(append if you have other entries).

export GTK_MODULES=rgba
export GTK_RGBA_APPS="allbut:firefox-bin:gnome-mplayer:totem:soffice:<unknown>:exe"

Easy.

6 thoughts on “How to fix Flash with RGBA

  1. if “” is added, the GNOME session won’t start! The error message is something like this: “unknown, no such file”

    Reply

  2. admin:

    “” is needed for Firefox, well it did work for me. I used the exact text that I’ve posted. What’s your distribution?

    Interesting information. My distro is debian squeeze. I’ll also try that in Ubuntu and tell the result.

    Reply
  3. Exactly the same result in Ubuntu, as I predicted. It says:

    cannot open unknown: No such file

    And the GNOME session doesn’t start but freezes. What distro do you use? Is it updated?

    Reply
  4. Oh, my bad! I never used quotes around exceptions. Now it works. Thank you very much for this workaround!

    IF YOU ADD unknown (in brackets) TO THE EXCEPTION LIST, PUT THE LIST IN QUOTES, AS ABOVE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

