Fix ibus unprocessed keys bug on 11.10

All Oneiric users are having an ibus bug that does not let them to use any plug-in for ibus to work properly(unprocessed keys such as spaces get added to the text before the converted text). Seems it was introduced with Unity, but it is not just Unity. I am not using Unity(Kubuntu+gnome-shell), but I was affected by this bug as long as I had 11.10 installed! Now finally a fix has arrived but its not in the repositories yet(or I failed to find any). You’ll have to compile from source, hurray!

http://github.com/fujiwarat/ibus

You don’t need to git clone, you can download it in zip format. And happy compile time!

Compile notes

1. It’ll ask for gtk-doc, which I did not find in the repos. This one is a documentation generation tool but the package that’s in Ubuntu repo is just documentation about gtk+; no use in that just download the source and compile it.

2. I was not able to run ibus-setup after installing, it crashed giving a stack trace! Well I don’t like to patch around problems but hey I just want to type some Sinhala, so I just patched it with,

try:
<problematic code>
except:
    pass

Make sure you have the indentation correct using tabs.

More information is available on the bug reports,

ibus@googlecode-bugreport1

ibus@googlecode-bugreport2

ibus@launchpad-bugreport1

Leave a Reply

